New England Summer Bucket List

I’ve lived in the northeast just shy of my entire life, but there are many things I have yet to do and see. Growing up, my summer days/nights usually consisted of watching Sox games with my Dad or driving around town aimlessly with friends; windows down and music blaring. As much as I cherished those times, there were so many fun summer activities that I longed to do, but unfortunately missed out on. I’m making it my mission to cross at least some of these off of my bucket list this summer when I visit in June!

  1. Take a dip at Bash Bish Falls – This 60 ft cascade waterfall is one of the most beautiful in New England, with views across MA into New York state at it’s summit. It’s been a dream of mine to spend a summer afternoon here for quite some time.
     2.  Have a picnic/listen to some music at Tanglewood – Tanglewood is the “summer home” of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. The venue hosts the Festival of Contemporary Music, jazz and popular artists, concerts, and frequent appearances by James Taylor, John Williams and the Boston Pops. With a huge lawn and scenic views, it’s the perfect place to spend an evening with loved ones.

     3.  Grab a sweet treat at the Ben and Jerry’s Factory – Located in Waterbury, Vermont, the Ben & Jerry’s Factory offers a 30-minute guided tour which gives guests the opportunity to learn about the ice cream manufacturing process. They also have a gift shop, and of course, a scoop shop!

     4.  Spend an afternoon at Jiminy Peak Mountain Adventure Park – It was only until last year that I found out about the awesomeness that is Jiminy Peak. Situated in the Taconic Mountains, the park offers thrills for all ages. The little ones can enjoy bounce houses, a bungy trampoline and rock climbing. While the adults and older kids can enjoy mountain coasters, scenic chairlifts, giant swing and a seated zip line ride! This is definitely a must on my list! Here is a video showcasing the fun to be had at Jiminy Peak!

    5.  See a movie at a drive-in – I’ve only been to a drive-in a handful of times, and I was really young. I do remember though, that I really enjoyed it! Drive-in’s are so much fun especially in the back of a pick-up or SUV. I remember filling my cousin’s trunk of her SUV with blankets, pillows and snacks galore! The best way to do a drive-in, if you ask me!

    6.  4th of July fireworks in the Berkshires – Every year I would normally watch the fireworks at Six Flags New England since I lived so close, but unfortunately, they weren’t the best. Not only were they kind of lame, but the normal noise from the park added to the annoyance. This year I’d love to catch a fireworks show at either Tanglewood (mentioned above) , or Wahconah Park in Pittsfield.

    7.  Catch a performance at Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival – Jacobs Pillow Dance Festival features 200 free performances, exhibits, tours, and more each summer. This summer some of the highlighted performances will include dancers from Germany, Cuba, Algeria, as well as dancers from Brooklyn NY, here in the US. Here is a video recapping the festival from last summer:

    8.  Take a stroll/bike ride through a state forest or park – My idea of a perfect day would be reconnecting with nature. It’s not often I get to do so here in south Florida so I take advantage whenever I’m back in New England!

    8.  Spend a day on the coast – Preferably the Cape! I’d love to explore Cape Cod in all of it’s glory. Beaches, lighthouses, boardwalks, and fresh lobstah rolls! I’ve always wanted to visit Marthas Vineyard as well!

    9.  Vistit Mystic Seaport – Located in Mystic, Connecticut, Mystic Seaport is the largest maritime museum in the world. It offers performances and demonstrations where interpreters demonstrate different maritime skills. There are also many public gardens to explore, exhibits, a planetarium and various restaurants. I remember friends going there for field trips when I was younger, but I’ve never been!

  10. Explore the Naumkeag Estate – Here is a short video explaining more about the breath taking property:

Naumkeag in the Berkshires from Above Summit on Vimeo.


 

11.  Take on Ramblewild! – Ramblewild is an outdoor adventure course situated between the trees of the Feronia Forest. Courses meander from tree to tree at various heights throughout the forest and include obstacles like high wires, zip lines, balancing logs, rope ladders, cargo nets, suspended bridges, and more. Four of the eight courses cross over the ravine via zip lines that will keep you over 100 feet above the bottom! The park is also divided by a ravine, which is connected by a 200-foot suspension bridge high above the stream below.


 

12.  Spend a night around a fire – Something that I haven’t done since I was a kid, but always enjoyed. There is nothing like spending a summer night huddled around a fire with your family and friends. Throw in some s’mores and that’s my idea of the perfect summer night 🙂


 

These are only some of the awesome activities that New England offers during the summer time, my list could go on and on. Since my time will be limited (I’m only there for a week!), I’m hoping to do as many of these as I can. Honestly, I just can’t wait to be back in tune nature. I’ve never really talked about it much here, but I have an undying love for the outdoors. I long to get lost beneath the shade of the native maple and red spruce trees, enjoy the afternoon song of the chickadee, and the peaceful sound of rushing water. I can’t wait to take my first  big breath of fresh mountain air in quite some time. New England is a beautiful region, and the perfect place to spend your summer.


6 thoughts on “New England Summer Bucket List

Leave a comment